Agong confers SUMW Award to four recipients

By , in Nation on .

KUALA LUMPUR, 6 April — Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah today conferred the Darjah Kebesaran Seri Utama Mahkota Wilayah (SUMW) award, which carries the title “Datuk Seri Utama” to four individuals in conjuntion with the Federal Territory Day celebration this year.

They are the Yang Dipertua Negeri of Penang Tun Dr Abdul Rahman Abbas, Yang Dipertua Negeri of Sabah Tun Juhar Mahiruddin, the wife of Yang Dipertua Negeri of Sarawak Toh Puan Datuk Patinggi Ragad Kurdi Taib, and the Yang Dipertua Negeri of Melaka Tun Mohd Ali Rustam.

Raja Permaisuri Agong Tunku Hajah Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah was in attendance at the investiture ceremony held at Istana Negara.

Also present were Federal Territories Minister Tan Sri Annuar Musa and his deputy Datuk Seri Dr Santhara Kumar.

Meanwhile, in a statement, Annuar said the award was conferred to the four individuals as they had made huge contribution to the development of Federal Territories.


He said Abdul Rahman, for example, had contributed to strengthening business and industrial ties between Penang and  Federal Territories which had opened up new business and investment opportunities for the business and industry community.

He said Juhar, on the other hand, had played a major role in inculcating the spirit of the Malaysia Agreement 1963 with Sabah being an equal partner in the formation of Malaysia.

“Sabah’s development has enabled the Federal Territory of Labuan to expand its economic growth in an integrated manner with Sabah being the logistic, transportation, oil and gas as well as tourism,” Annuar said.

He said Ragad Kurdi had contributed by being the patron of many charity organisations which have been active in providing aid and financial assistance as well as medical equipment to handle COVID-19, while Mohd Ali had also done so much to strengthen Melaka-Kuala Lumpur ties as twin cities in various economic sectors.


Recommended articles