Muhyiddin accepts Perikatan Nasional’s defeat in Melaka

By , in Local on .

Melaka, Nov 21 — Perikatan  Nasional (PN) chairman Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin accepted the party’s loss in the Melaka state election today with an open heart.

He hoped Barisan Nasional (BN) would translate its victory into fulfilling its pledges to the people as found in the party’s manifesto.

Congratulations to BN over the success to form the government of Melaka. The people of Melaka have chosen their candidates and the results are now out.”

At PN level, we are grateful our candidates have succeeded in defending the number of seats we won earlier and for others, we are grateful as most of our candidates received an encouraging number of votes,” he said.


In this regard, Muhyiddin said an in-depth study would be conducted on the results of the Melaka election today.

We will see whether it is related to voter turnout, PN machinery, or other problems. This will give us the guide for the follow-up measures especially for the coming general election,” he said.

Perikatan Nasional won the Sungai Udang seat when its candidate Mohd Aleef Yusof polled 6,789 votes to defeat Datuk Mohamad Ali Mohamad (BN), Hasmorni Tamby (Pakatan Harapan), and Mohd Zahar Hashim (Independent) in a four-cornered fight.

The second seat Perikatan Nasional won was the Bemban seat through its candidate, Mohd Yadzil Yaakub who received 4,211 votes to defeat Koh Chin Han of BN, Tey Kok Kiew (Pakatan Harapan), Ng Choon Koon (Independent), and Azmi Kamis (Independent) in the five-cornered battle.

However, Perikatan Nasional’s chief minister candidate, Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin was defeated by Melaka Umno liaison committee chairman Datuk Ab Rauf Yusoh (BN) in the Tanjung Bidara seat in a there-cornered fight as she could only muster 3,195 votes against 3,559 by Rauf.

The other challenger was Zainal Hassan of Pakatan Harapan. 

NMT as reported by Bernama

Recommended articles