December 1, 2023

New Malaysia Times

Blog News Impose Expose

LTdL 2022: Blikra wins stage six, first pro victory


ALOR SETAR, Oct 16 — Uno-X Pro Cycling Team rider Erlend Blikra won stage six of the Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL) 2022, a distance of 120.4 kilometres (km) from Georgetown to Alor Setar, today.

The Norwegian made history for himself with his first win in his professional racing career after crossing the finish line in a time of 2 hours 49 minutes 42 seconds.

Astana Qazaqstan Team’s Gleb Syritsa came in second while Rudiger Selig from the Lotto Soudal team finished in third place.


The race commissioner gave the same time of 2:49.42 seconds to the top 10 riders, because they finished the race in a bunch.

Blikra’s best finish in the LTdL this time before this was in the first stage (Kuala Pilah-Kuala Lumpur) where he came in second.

“We have been trying every day now and to finally succeed feels amazing. Actually it was bit less hectic today, because of rain or people tired, nobody wanted to take chances, but I started my sprint early and nobody could get past.”

“Today we forgot all about yesterday, we just celebrate and really happy. Its been quite emotional for me, first pro victory, for the people who know me know its quite emotional,” he told reporters.

Tomorrow’s seventh stage involves the route from Kuah to Gunung Raya in Langkawi, a distance of 90.8km, the shortest in the eight-stage LTdL 2022.

NMT as reported by Bernama