May 22, 2024

New Malaysia Times

Blog News Impose Expose

PKR totally wiped out, DAP crushed in Sarawak elections


Kuching, Dec 18 — The Pakatan Harapan (PH) coalition, made up of PKR, DAP and Amanah suffered another embarrassing election defeat today in Sarawak, on the heels of its poor performance at the Melaka state polls last month.

PKR, led by PH chairman Anwar Ibrahim, was completely wiped out, losing all 28 seats it contested in Sarawak.

Amanah likewise failed to win any of the eight seats in which it had fielded candidates.

DAP meanwhile retained the seats of Pending and Padungan but lost in the 22 other seats it contested including Kota Sentosa, Pujut, Palawan, Bukit Assek, and Tanjung Batu which it had won in the 2016 polls.

Sarawak DAP chief Chong Chieng Jen won Padungan with 4,686 votes, defeating GPS candidate Wee Hong Seng with 1,198 votes.


Meanwhile, Violet Wong won the Pending seat for a fourth term, obtaining 5,188 votes and beating SUPP’s Milton Foo Tiang Wee.

Parti Sarawak Bersatu won four seats: Ba’kelalan, Batu Lintang, Engkelili and Bawang Assan, with the first two retained by former PKR members Baru Bian and See Chee How.

Baru won with 2,687 votes while See won with 4,420.